Nepali New Year

Ideally New Year celebrates on the occasion of post time of the current year and welcome to the next Year. Bikram Sambat or Bikram Era is using by Nepalese Government as official calendar. Bikram Sambat established by legendary emperor Vikramaditya and which is 57 years (56 years 7 months) ahead then BCE (Before Christ Era/Before Common Era) solar Gregorian calendar. New Year called “Nava Barsa or Naya Barsa” in the Nepali language, during this day the Government of Nepal give public holiday to celebrate New Year. All the government offices will remain closed on Nepali New Year Day. It falls on second week of April, where the nature is getting to start greenery for new life session (spring season). 

People celebrate Nepali New Year in various ways; they get together with friends, family and relatives to participant’s some event, game or picnic for the fun and commitment to do good things acknowledge from last year experience to lead  the whole year in right way. By which a person, family, society and whole the nation will follow right path. Meanwhile they exchange New Year greeting and wish (NAYA BARSAKO SUBHAKAMANA) each other through Nepali New Year Greeting Cards, Gift or orally. The clubs and organization are organizing tournament (football, Volleyball, cricket etc...) or event (singing, dancing competition to conserve traditional cultural and rituals) with huge amount of prize to make special event all over the country. Even the hotels, restaurant and club are organized New Year's Eve events and parties with special offer for party lover.

Likewise, different rituals conducted specific part of country; especially Bisket Jatra, Sindoor Jatra and Bode Jatra celebrate in Bhaktapur as annual carnivals. As Nepali calendar (PATRO) is base on Lunar (Cycle of Moon) Calendar System, the date, month, days and horoscope are different by solar calendar. So the first month of the Year called Baishakh, which falls on mid of April to May mid and the last month of Nepali month called Chaitra which start on mid of March and end mid of April. Here, we are writing down name of 12 months of Nepali Year and Nepali Date according to Nepali Patro.

  1. Baishakh   -(30/31 days)  Mid-April to Mid-May
  2. Jestha       -(31/32  Days) Mid-May to Mid-June
  3. Ashad        -(31/32 Days) Mid-June to Mid-July
  4. Shravan    -(31/32 Days) Mid-July to Mid-August
  5. Bhadra      -(31/32 Days) Mid-August to Mid-September
  6. Ashwin      -(30/31  Days) Mid-September to Mid-October
  7. Kartik         -(29/30 Days) Mid-October to Mid-November
  8. Mangsir     -(29/30 Days) Mid-November To Mid-December
  9. Pausha      -(29/30 Days) Mid-December to Mid-January
  10. Magh          -(29/30 Days)Mid-January To Mid-February
  11. Phalgun     -(29/30 Days) Mid-February to Mid-March
  12. Chaitra      -(30/31 Days)   Mid-March to Mid-April

This is Nepali New Year 2077 which is going to begin on 13th- of April as New Year Day. As people of Nepali are following various culture and tradition, we are celebrating in different way. If you are curious for Nepali New Year, you are welcome to join with us to celebrate.